top of page

His glory, not mine - Why I don't want to "make 2020 my year"

Here we go again: It's the end of a year, and everyone's excited or not so excited for 2020, which doesn't only mark a new year but even a new decade. Feels like a really big deal. These few days we have left are great for reflecting, contemplating and planning. I absolutely think we should use this time to think about what the year has been like and what we can improve in the next one. In that same vein, a firm believer in New Year's resolutions as long as they're realistic and achievable. Setting goals in order to grow in certain areas of your life is incredibly helpful.

However, there's one thing that freaks me out: The kind slogans you see all over social media these days: "2020 is gonna be your year." "Make 2020 your year." "Dedicate this year to yourself."

I believe that the intentions of the people posting these quotes are good, but no, this is just not the philosophy I personally share as a Christian. And although I know that's an unpopular opinion, here's why:

Selfishness doesn't pave the way to lasting happiness.

There's a fine line between self acceptance and self love, and the latter is not the way to solve all your problems.

The right way to tackle the new decade is not living for ourselves. It's living for JESUS. Only in in Him can we find fulfilment and true joy. We can only give what we have been given, so the love we pass on to others stems from the love God has given us in the first place.

Of course, that doesn't mean we should hate ourselves or our bodies even. No, as I said, self acceptance and a healthy dose of confidence are vital. But they shouldn't be a result of self love, but of finding our worth in Christ.

If you believe in Jesus, please let His love for you and your love for Him guide you in the coming year, not your love for yourself. I promise, it's the only way to find true contentment. All the resolutions about dieting and achieving goals are great, but they can't compare to knowing Him. ❤

Reflective Questions to ask yourself before the new year starts:

1) What has God taught me in 2019?

2) How can I grow in my faith next year?

3) Who sits on the throne in my life? God, I myself or something else? How can I make Jesus more of a priority?

Speaking of the year coming to an end, thank you so much for reading and supporting my blog and Instagram in 2019. Words can't say how grateful I am for the people God gave me the opportunity to get to know through this platform and for the joy of getting to touch hearts. I do all of this for Him, not for myself, and the response has been overwhelming, so thank you from the bottom of my heart. I love this community so much.

I can't wait to share more content with you next year! Have a beautiful 2020, and God bless!

Annie xx

45 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page