top of page

Be still and know - The importance of stillness in a noisy world

'#Christian '#faith #Christmas #rest #stillness


My life always happens in a hurry. Especially currently, I'm rushing from rehearsal to rehearsal (I'm a singer) while having to manage school on the side. And on top of that, it´s the holiday season, which I love in general, but it seems to be not only the most wonderful time of the year but also the busiest one. But even when I do find time to rest, I simply can't seem to shut down. I always need some music or podcast playing in the background, some Netflix show or at least a book in order to not get bored.


Anyone else?

Because I was so stressed out lately, a friend advised me to do a little 26 minutes boost nap after lunch if I have time. No music, no reading, no phone. Just stillness. To be honest, it was quite challenging for me when I tried it out. Even though I didn't actually fall asleep, I felt super relaxed and recharged after, so much that I didn't even feel like getting out of bed and turning my phone on again.

We live in a world that is always busy and noisy and full of distractions. But a lot in life is about balance, and rest must be a part of our routine, too. We serve a King Who calls us to be still from time to time and to know (=to be aware of the fact) that He is God. A short moment of stillness. Praying. Listening to what He has to say. Acknowledging that God is God. That He is still sovereign over everything else, including all the noise. That He is Lord, that He is good, and that He is communicating with us.

I've now set the goal to set aside a few minutes in the morning each day to pray and read the Word before I expose myself to the stress. Because the strength and peace that comes from being in God's presence in the morning will carry us through the day.

And the boost nap? After a long time of not caring enough for my body, mind and spirit, I'm trying to incorporate it as often as possible, too.


It´s hard to see God at work in your life

if you don´t give Him space in your life.

I believe we all should strive towards establishing the habit of being quiet. It doesn't have to look the same for you as for me, but I encourage you to sit in stillness before Jesus for a few minutes every day. It's hard to see God at work in your life if you don't give Him space in your life. If you want to listen to God more, the reason might be that you, like me, constantly listen to some other stuff and (often without intending to) shut your ears to God's voice. Are you with me this holiday season? Slow down for a moment in the midst of all the cookie-baking and Christmas shopping. Be still. And listen to what He has to say to you in the quiet.


Reflective questions to ask yourself:

1) Which "voices" do I listen to and fill myself up with on a regular basis?

2) How can I make rest a firm part of my routine, especially with Christmas approaching?

3) What is God telling me when I take the time to actually listen?



Have a beautiful holiday season, friends!


Annie xo

18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page